When a person known to you passes away, you can create an online request to have their Facebook account removed or memorialized.
Memorialized accounts on Facebook allow friends and family to share memories after person has passed away.
The only person who can manage a memorialized account is a legacy contact, who must be specified by the account holder. A legacy contact can do things like:
* Pin a post on the person’s profile
* Respond to new friend requests
* Update the profile picture and cover photo
If the account holder hasn’t selected a legacy contact, the account won’t be actively cared for by anyone after memorialization request has been generated.
To create a request for memorialization, all you have to do is go to the link and fill out the form. The form requires you to fill in basic information, such as the name of the deceased person and the date on which it happened. Optionally, you might also have to fill in details regarding the proof of death (e.g. a link to the obituary or other documentation about the death).
Memorialized accounts have the following key features
* The word ‘Remembering’ is shown next to the person’s name on their profile
* Depending on the privacy settings of the account, friends can share memories on the memorialized Timeline
* Content the person shared (ex: photos, posts) stays on Facebook and is visible to the audience it was shared with
* Memorialized profiles don’t appear in public spaces such as in suggestions for People you may know, ads or birthday reminders
* No one can log into a memorialized account
* Memorialized accounts that don’t have a legacy contact can’t be changed
* Pages with a sole admin whose account was memorialized are removed from Facebook if a valid request is raised.